Contacts

Faculty of Kinesiology includes the Outdoor Centre, Active Living, Dinos Athletics, Sport Medicine Centre and the Olympic Oval.

Faculty and staff may be working remotely. Please contact them by email rather than by phone.

Kinesiology Building Hours

Monday – Thursday 6 a.m. – 11 p.m.

Friday 6 a.m. – 10 p.m.

Saturday – Sunday 8 a.m. – 9 p.m.

 


Dean's Office

Nick Holt, PhD, dean of the Faculty of Kinesiology

Contact: knesdean@ucalgary.ca

General information: 403.220.5607

Need to contact someone? See below.

Faculty of Kinesiology 

Main Office KNB 135
376 Collegiate Blvd NW

University of Calgary
2500 University Drive, NW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T2N 1N4

Kinesiology Facilities & Programs

Active Living (Joint Effort and GLA:D)

Dinos Athletics

Intramural Sports

Olympic Oval

Outdoor Centre 

Sport Medicine Centre

Thrive Centre

Faculty of Kinesiology Contacts

Nick Holt, Dean - KNB 136 - knesdean@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.5607

Ariel Webster, Administrative Coordinator - ariel.webster@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.5607

Jodie Griffiths, Manager, Academic Programs and Administration - KNB 146B - jodie.griffiths@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.6762

 

Associate Dean's

Undergraduate

William Bridel, Associate Dean (Academic) - KNB 140B - william.bridel@ucalgary.ca - 403.210.7246

Graduate

Patricia Doyle-Baker, Associate Dean (Graduate) - KNB 139 - pdoyleba@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7034

Jan Crawford, Graduate Programs Coordinator - KNB 139B - jcrawfo@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.5183

Research

Reed Ferber, Associate Dean (Research) - rferber@ucalgary.ca - KNB 242 - 403.210.6468

Research Advisor - knesrsch@ucalgary.ca

William Bridel, Associate Dean (Academic) - KNB 140B - william.bridel@ucalgary.ca - 403.210.7246

Soomin Son, Administrative Coordinator - KNB 140 - sson@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.8878

 

Undergraduate Contact

For undergraduate advising, contact knesinfo@ucalgary.ca and for practicum questions, contact knespracticum@ucalgary.ca.

 

Undergraduate Advisors in Kinesiology

Monika Davidson, Undergraduate Advisor – KNB 142 - mdavidso@ucalgary.ca

Jeannine Beck Merino, Undergraduate Advisor - KNB 142 - jbeckmerino@ucalgary.ca  

Carla Grundison, Undergraduate Advisor – KNB 143 - cgrundis@ucalgary.ca

 

Student Representatives

Kinesiology Students' Society - KNB 153 - kssucalgary@gmail.com

Students' Union representative - kinesrep@su.ucalgary.ca 

Ombuds Office - MSC 274 - ombuds@ucalgary.ca 

Student Services

Need mental health and wellness support? Contact Wellness Services

Graduate Contact

For graduate program advising, contact knesgrad@ucalgary.ca

Patricia Doyle-Baker, Associate Dean (Graduate) - KNB 139 - pdoyleba@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7034

Jan Crawford, Graduate Advisor & Programs Coordinator - KNB 139B -  jcrawfo@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.5183

Need someone to talk to? Contact Wellness Services

Chairs

Cindy Barha, Tier 2 CRC in Neuroscience, Brain Health and Exercise - KNB 434 - cindy.barha@ucalgary.ca

Carolyn Emery, Tier l CRC in Concussion - KNB 3300C - caemery@ucalgary.ca - 403.220-4608

Arthur Kuo, Tier 1 CRC in Biomedical Engineering - KNB 410 - arthur.kuo@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7388

Jennifer Zwicker, Tier 2 CRC in Disability Policy for Children and Youth - zwicker1@ucalgary.ca - 403.210.9224

More information about the Kinesiology research chairs

 

Assistant Professors

Saied Jalal Aboodarda - KNB 420 - saiedjalal.aboodarda@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.3649

Cindy Barha - KNB 434 - cindy.barha@ucalgary.ca

Brittany Edgett - KNB 422 - brittany.edgett@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.3497

Leigh Gabel - KNB 426 - leigh.gabel@ucalgary.ca

Alexandra Giancarlo - KNB 248 - alexandra.giancarlo@ucalgary.ca

Matt Jordan - KNB 2212 - mjordan@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7028

Sarah Kenny - KNB 246 - kennys@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.2770

Laura St. John - KNB 414 - laura.stjohn@ucalgary.ca

 

Assistant Professors - Teaching

John Holash - KNB 436 - rjholash@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7655

 

Associate Professors

William Bridel - KNB 253 - william.bridel@ucalgary.ca - 403.210.7246

Tyler Cluff - KNB 2228 - tyler.cluff@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.2840

Brent Edwards - KNB 418 - wbedward@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.8950

Martin MacInnis - KNB 2230 - martin.macinnis@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.6554

Kati Pasanen - KNB 240 - kati.pasanen@ucalgary.ca

David Paskevich - KNB 140B - dpaskevi@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.3434

Ryan Peters - KNB 2208 - ryan.peters1@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7810

Kathryn Schneider - KNB 3300D - kjschnei@ucalgary.ca - 403.210.8951

Jonathan Smirl - KNB 3300E - jonathan.smirl@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.8426

Jennifer Zwickerzwicker1@ucalgary.ca - 403.210.9224

 

Associate Professors - Teaching

Cari Din - KNB 252 - csdin@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.3430

 

Professors

Nick Holt, Dean - KNB 136 - knesdean@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.5607

Nicole Culos-Reed - KNB 139 - nculosre@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7540

Patricia Doyle-Baker - KNB 426 - pdoyleba@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7034

Carolyn Emery - KNB 3300C - caemery@ucalgary.ca - 403.220-4608

Reed Ferber - KNB 242 - rferber@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.6468

Walter Herzog - KNB 402 - wherzog@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.8525

Arthur Kuo - KNB 410 - arthur.kuo@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7388

Meghan McDonough - KNB 250 - meghan.mcdonough@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7211

Thilo Pfau - KNB 2231 - thilo.pfau@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.6095

Raylene Reimer De Bruyn - KNB 440 - reimer@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.8218

Jane Shearer - HSC 2502 - jshearer@ucalgary.ca - 403.220-3431

Penny Werthner - AD A100 - provost@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.5460

David A. Hart - hartd@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.4571

Marc Poulin - HMRB 210 - Admin Assistant: lisa.johnson1@ucalgary.ca

Ronald Sigal - Richmond Road Diagnostic & Treatment 18109 - rsigal@ucalgary.ca - 403.955-8327

Don Anderson

Michael Asmussen - michael.asmussen@ucalgary.ca

Amy Bender - amy.bender2@ucalgary.ca

Christian Clermont - christian.clermont@ucalgary.ca

Justine Dowd - jdowd@ucalgary.ca

Breda Eubank - bhflau@ucalgary.ca

Jared Fletcher - jrdfletc@ucalgary.ca

Heiliane Fontana - heiliane.fontana@ucalgary.ca

Robert Griffiths - robert.griffiths@ucalgary.ca

Kotaybah Hashlamoun - kwhashla@ucalgary.ca

Venus Joumaa - vjoumaa@ucalgary.ca

Larry Katz - katz@ucalgary.ca

Tao Liu - tao.liu1@ucalgary.ca

Ranita Manocha

Guillaume Millet

Eng Kuan Moo - ekmoo@ucalgary.ca

Benno Nigg - nigg@ucalgary.ca

Dana Olstad - dana.olstad@ucalgary.ca

Jill Parnell - japarnel@ucalgary.ca

Anu Räisänen - anu.raisanen@ucalgary.ca

Darren Stefanyshyn - stefanys@ucalgary.ca

Bill Wannop - b.wannop@ucalgary.ca

Stephen West

Jeremy Wong - jeremy.wong2@ucalgary.ca

Chantelle Zimmer - chantelle.zimmer@ucalgary.ca

Michael Baggaley - michael.baggaley1@ucalgary.ca

Yau Shan Zoe Chan - zoe.chan1@ucalgary.ca

Victor Cossich - victor.cossich@ucalgary.ca

Meghan Critchley - meghan.critchley@ucalgary.ca

Osman Darici - osman.darici1@ucalgary.ca

Paul Eliason - pheliaso@ucalgary.ca

Colin Firminger - colin.firminger@ucalgary.ca

Kenzie Friesen - kenzie.friesen@ucalgary.ca

Claudiane Fukuchi - claudiane.fukuchi@ucalgary.ca

Nesa Keshavarz Moghadam - nesa.keshavarzmoghad@ucalgary.ca

Ellen Koch - ellen.koch@ucalgary.ca

Tao Liu - tao.liu1@ucalgary.ca

Erin Noye Tuplin - erin.noyetuplin@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.4639

Letizia Rasica - letizia.rasica@ucalgary.ca

Stephanie Ross - stephanie.ross1@ucalgary.ca

Robin Trama - robin.trama@ucalgary.ca

Jackie Zehr - jackie.zehr@ucalgary.ca

See the Postdoctoral Scholars profiles page to learn more about each researcher. 

See the Labs and Centres web page. 

Book rooms in the Human Performance Lab (for Kinesiology employees). 

Download templates, view brand guides, social media, and communication inquiries.

Contact us for donations, sponsorship, alumni news and volunteer opportunities. 

Braydon Epp, Director of Development - braydon.epp1@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7207 | cell: 403.862.6099

Kayla Gallant, Development Coordinator - kayla.gallant@ucalgary.ca

Join your alumni on Facebook.

Leanne Yohemas (on leave), Director, Communications and Marketing

Stacy McGuire, Manager, Communications and Marketing - stacy.mcguire@ucalgary.ca - 403.464.3675

Contact for media, social media, web updates, messaging, marketing, and communication strategies, article suggestions, and branding and logo requests. 

View internal marketing and communications site for templates, social media support, and other inquiries. 

Faculty of Kinesiology including:

  • Active Living
  • Dinos Athletics
  • Olympic Oval 
  • Outdoor Centre
  • Sport Medicine Centre

Kinesiology Operations, located on the second floor of Kinesiology B building, manages the Kinesiology complex and the Oval. They look after cleaning, maintenance, renovations, office moves, room bookings and keys.

All key requests need to be submitted by a manager to kneskeys@ucalgary.ca.

To book meeting spaces, multipurpose rooms, studios, gymnasiums, running track, weight rooms, wrestling room, and the outdoor fields, visit the Book a Space webpage, or contact bookings@ucalgary.ca

To book spaces in the Olympic Oval, contact ovalbookings@ucalgary.ca 

For all other inquiries, contact kinesops@ucalgary.ca.

Didn't see the space you want to book? See the book a space webpage.

 

Kinesiology Operations staff

Elyse Schwartzkopf, Manager, KNB 232 - eschwart@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.6473.

Karen Delaney, Scheduling Coordinator, KNB 233 - delaney@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.8510.

Kaylee Forsen, Facility Scheduling Assistant - KNB 233 - kaylee.forsen@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.4160. 

Carnot Olguin, Facility Specialist - KNB 231 - carnot.olguin@ucalgary.ca - 587.893.8841

 

Human Performance Lab

Kinesiology staff can book a space in the lab by visiting HPL bookings

Active Living (indoor recreation & camps) Client Services KNA 104 - active@ucalgary.ca, 403.220.7749

 

Outdoor Centre (outdoor recreation/gear rentals) KNB 180 - outdoor@ucalgary.ca  - 403.220.5038

 

Olympic Ovaloval@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.7954

 

Dinos Athletics 

Ben Matchett, Director of Athletics - ben.matchett@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.8143

Robert Ellis, Senior Manager, Sales and Marketing - robert.ellis@ucalgary.ca - 403.605.2530

Lance Doucet, Communication Manager - ldoucet@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.5082

Mike Boyles, Associate Athletic Director, Student Services - mboyles@ucalgary.ca - 403.220.4413

 

Sport Medicine Centre

Main reception: 403.220.8232 - Sport Medicine Centre

 

Maps of Recreation Facilities

Check out PDF maps of the facility locations on the main floor and basement level

For health and wellness services on campus, visit Wellness Services

If you are experiencing suicidal thoughts, you are not alone. If your life or someone else’s is in danger, call 911 for emergency services or call the Calgary Distress Center at 403-266-4357 or Canada Suicide Prevention Service at 1-833-456-4566.

The University of Calgary is committed to enhancing the mental health of students, faculty and staff and provides a variety of mental health resources. Learn more about our Campus Mental Health Strategy and Suicide Awareness and Prevention Framework.

Non Study Abroad

Helpful tips for international travel and the field handbook for group leaders is available for the University of Calgary. 

 

Study Abroad 

Resources for students travelling abroad. 

For IT service, submit ticket request.

Tim Heale, Kinesiology I.T. - KNB 264 - kits@ucalgary.ca

Faculty of Kinesiology - Dean's Office

Kinesiology faculty and staff can access internal documents and contacts through sharepoint.